Day 24 – What Part of Go Take Care of It, Don’t You Understand? Part 1

24 Elul 5769

”What Part of Go Take Care of It – Don’t You Understand?” Part 1

One Memorial Day weekend many years ago, my BFF (best friend forever) unplugged “without warning”, and decided not to communicate with me. She would not answer or return my calls. As a result, I had no clue regarding what I had done to warrant the silent treatment. I prayed continuously about the situation and asked the Lord to show me what I did wrong and how to make it right.

I began reading Matthew 5:23-24 | Therefore if thou bring thy gift to the altar, and there rememberest that thy brother hath ought against thee; Leave there thy gift before the altar, and go thy way; first be reconciled to thy brother, and then come and offer thy gift.

This scripture was challenging for me NOT because I didn’t want to make things right but because I would gladly make things right, if I had the chance.   I would gladly leave my gift at the altar –  but she refused to have anything to do with me.

We had never had a cross word or a vicious disagreement. So I was left with the mystery of figuring it out. But that was driving me crazy. I finally stopped trying to defend myself in the courtroom of my mind and concluded that I was innocent until my friend revealed the charges against me.  I eventually accepted the situation as it was while still mourning the loss of my friend. As the summer came to end, my BFF began coming around again but she never mentioned the summer silence.

Although, I was glad to see her, it was obvious things had changed between us. The conversations were short, safe and shallow. The deep hearty shared laughter of the past was no more to be found in our company. We were cautious and I was jaded. I didn’t want to bring up anything that would trigger the door on our friendship closing forever but it was also tiresome not knowing how all this began in the first place.

I was still challenged by the scripture in Matthew and kept hearing in my heart – you need to talk to her. “What part of go take care of it, don’t you understand?” 

My response, I will… tomorrow.  ( I didn’t really mean tomorrow just some time in the future).

(To be continued)

Leave a Reply

