Day 7 – Breaking Through

7  ELUL 5769  (from the archives 09.11.2008)

On my trip home from Orlando one evening, I experienced turbulence in varying degrees.  The bumpy minutes in Orlando’s rain (courtesy of Hurricane Ike) was smooth compared to my connecting flight at Denver International.  As we waited for clearance to take-off, the pilot prepared the passengers for what we could expect as we entered the turbulent skies.  There was a collective quietness in the cabin as the airbourne ship shook, jerked and swayed through the dark water-filled storm clouds.  The pilot holding fast to the helm, forged ahead upstream through the Tempest, as he promised Calm above the storm 38,000 feet in the sky. 

It made me think of breaking through during the month of Elul.  Making internal changes does not necessarily come easy.  Jacob fought with the angel throughout the night and would not let him go until he blessed him (Genesis 32:24-30).  Our desire for change is tested in our effort and willingness to “struggle through the night” and not let go until our name is changed – until we breakthrough.

I am personally experiencing: this fight, struggle, and turbulence of internal change.  Sometimes I get weary, but I know that there is a space above the storm.   A Space of Stillness, Calm and Beauty.  A space where the turbulence becomes my footstool and His Essence, the Radiance of my Soul.

Genesis 32: 24-28 |  24And Jacob was left alone; and there wrestled a man with him until the breaking of the day. 25And when he saw that he prevailed not against him, he touched the hollow of his thigh; and the hollow of Jacob’s thigh was out of joint, as he wrestled with him.    26And he said, Let me go, for the day breaketh. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me.    

27And he said unto him, What is thy name? And he said, Jacob.   28And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed.    29And Jacob asked him, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, thy name. And he said, Wherefore is it that thou dost ask after my name? And he blessed him there.  30And Jacob called the name of the place Peniel: for I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.

Leave a Reply

