DAY 5 – “Vetting the Soul”

“Have you been properly vetted?”

5 ELUL 5769 – “Vetting the Soul” (From the archives 09.05.2008)

This week in the news, Americans have been re-introduced to the term “vetting” which seems to be used quite a bit during the political season.  Even Google stated that vetting was the most looked up word of the week and according to Wikipedia the term “broadly defines a process of examination and evaluation”.   

INTERESTING – SELAH (pause and think on this) 

I HEAR THE SOUND OF THE SHOFAR
WAKE UP, PAY ATTENTION ANOTHER LESSON IS UNFOLDING.

In this particular year, the month of Elul, a season for self examination and evaluation lands in the final months of a political season.  In my professional life, I am also in a season of vetting (better known as, background checks and security clearances.) I have walked through this process at different levels this past summer.  One individual I interviewed with was a sexual harassment case waiting to happen.  I walked out of the interview with some choice words in my head including, “If this was the last place on earth, the answer would be …. NO!”    The guy actually called me back to find out if I would be coming in for training.  Uh, …. NO!

With another organization, the (vetting) process started the last week of July and is still – still – still to this day not complete.  I just received an email this evening, stating that my information had come back but the person who provides the final check off was not in the office that day.  So it rolls over to Monday.  During this same period of time of hurry up and wait with this org, I was interviewing with other organizations and yes I am going through the “vetting” process.  This coming week I fly out to Florida to make a presentation and interview with the President, CFO, HR Manger, Training Manager and I don’t know who else.  Mind you – I have already had several phone interviews – very grateful, I am making the cut but I am feeling the “vetting” on a very personal level. 

So I am experiencing some vetting while simultaneously vetting the companies.   All of this vetting, got me thinking about people in the Bible that were not “properly vetted.”    The first example that came to mind was Cain and Abel.  I think Abel would have chosen to walk alone if he had “known” what was in his brother’s heart.  In the story of Joseph and his brothers, if Jacob had really understood the level of animosity, his sons had against their brother Joseph, he probably would have watched over Joseph more closely. 

There are many examples in scripture and most certainly we could all draw examples from our personal lives as we consider individuals who were trusted at face value but if you knew then what you know now – your first response probably would resemble what mine was to the infamous interviewer –  Uh, NOOOOOOOOO!

HERE’S THE CLINCHER:  It’s easy to point out, scrutinize, probe, and examine the life of another.  However, in this season the probes on us.  Am I able to look at a weakness, bad habits, undesirable character traits and say – UH, NOOOOOO! with as much passion, and emphatic fervor as I would to another individual or situation.  Am I responding to things in my life the way God sees them?  Am I evaluating my way or God’s way? 

 Am I properly vetting my soul according to God’s standards? Or am I giving myself a pass – “God knows my heart.” 

In God’s vetting process – the heart of Cain and Abel was revealed by the gifts they offered.   Abel’s gift was acceptable and Cain’s was not acceptable.   GOD KNEW THEIR HEART

God gave Cain an opportunity to change.  Like Cain, God comes to us and says you can change this – you can rule over that which is unacceptable to Me.  

There have been times in my life like Cain that God and God alone knew what was going on in my heart and it was not acceptable to Him. 

 I have had many opportunities to submit to God’s way of doing things and surrender to the “vetting” process of the Most High God. 

 I’m not going to lie – the TRUTH can hurt before the beauty of change is experienced.

Hebrews 4:12-16 (NLT) (Vetting – God’s Way)

12 For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires. 13 Nothing in all creation is hidden from God. Everything is naked and exposed before his eyes, and he is the one to whom we are accountable. 14 So then, since we have a great High Priest who has entered heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to what we believe. 15 This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. 16 So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Leave a Reply

