DAY 4 – Living or Inventing

 

4 ELUL 5769

In New York City several years ago, I stayed in the swanky Dylan Hotel which was a few short blocks from – well just about everything especially the New York City Library.  The street leading from my hotel to the library was paved with plaques featuring quotes from famous people.  I took the time to digitally capture each uniquely displayed quote.

The quote below by the painter George Braques, captures an interesting thought for Elul contemplation: 

Plaque on a New York City street

Plaque on a New York City street

 

Am I living in truth or

am I inventing stories that lead me away from the truth?

 

A simple prayer in this month of Elul

Keep me from lying to myself;
      give me the privilege of knowing your instructions.
Psalms 119:29 NLT

 

 

Leave a Reply

