DAY 3 – Stop! Look! Listen!

3 ELUL 5769

One day my morning walk started a little later than I wanted which ruled out driving to one of my favorite walking paths.  The Southern California morning sun was already proclaiming “it’s going to be hot today” and my internal dialog was working overtime.  I didn’t want to walk in the heat, there were already too many cars out – the quiet morning walk gone until tomorrow.  Ughh, and what’s this – more garbage trucks.  I thought pickup day was yesterday along with the air polluting scent. 

By this time, I had walked a half of a mile, not happy – whining and complaining.  I turn around briefly, arguing with myself.  “I have a lot to do today… whine, whine, cry, cry, boohoo…”    As I contemplated whether or not I would complete my three miles for that day, another waste management truck passed by with a sign that read something like “converting waste to energy for over 1 million homes.”

In that message, I could hear the SOUND OF THE SHOFAR BLAST – STOP! LOOK! LISTEN! 

“I CAN WORK WITH HASHEM TO CONVERT WASTE TO ENERGY. “

WOW! How am I using the waste in my life? If I had turned around, I would have missed this clarion call. The harried thoughts that polluted my mind in the first mile of my walk were waste full and depleted me of the energy and focus I needed to accomplish the challenges for that day. Rather than STRUGGLING with nonproductive automated thoughts, feelings and attitudes, I CAN CONVERT these thoughts to FUEL that propel me toward what I want.

I was hoping for my quiet tree lined serene path which represented the perfect setting for Elul reflection.

The Bridle Path facing Mt. Baldy

The Bridle Path facing Mt. Baldy

What was most important was the serene path of thought created in my own mind.

If I am only at peace, and can only reflect when life circumstances are going in “my favor” I leave myself OPEN and VULNERABLE to external factors framing my experience of the world.

 

It is said we have between 2,000 – 3,000 thoughts per day. How many of those thoughts are fueling us into action for the will of G-d?

I HAVE A CHOICE. I CAN CHOOSE TO STOP LOOK AND LISTEN!

Since each day carries it’s own pandora’s box of experiences.   I choose to:
*   STOP the thoughts masquerading as truth

*   LOOK at the direction I want to go and

*   LISTEN to the Voice of Truth in the midst of each test, trial or strong delusion –  leading and guiding me out of the darkness into that true place of rest, peace and obedience.

Hmm.  Something worth thinking about as we enter a new week.

Proverbs 4:23 Good News Bible  | 

BE CAREFUL HOW YOU THINK, YOUR LIFE IS SHAPED BY YOUR THOUGHTS.

Leave a Reply

